These computer monitor figures cover the measurement periods and populations identified in the available source material. Estimates, surveys and forecasts retain their reported scope.
Key Computer Monitor Statistics
The main findings are:
- ENERGY STAR calculates a computer monitor’s total energy consumption in kWh as 8.76 × (0.35 × P_ON + 0.65 × P_SLEEP) (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
- US EPA estimated selected consumer-electronics generation at 2.7 million tons in 2018, representing less than 1% of all municipal solid waste generation.
- In a web-based survey of adults working with digital devices in the UK and Ireland, 62.6% met the study’s Computer Vision Syndrome Questionnaire threshold for digital eye strain (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
- For monitors with screen area below 190 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.172 × screen area in square inches) + 1.50 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
- US EPA estimated a 38.5% recycling rate for selected consumer electronics in 2018.
- The same UK-and-Ireland working-adult survey reported mean digital-device use of 9.7 hours (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
- For monitors with screen area from 190 to below 210 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.020 × screen area in square inches) + 30.40 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
- Selected consumer-electronics generation was 1.9 million tons in 2000, according to the EPA table.
- Musculoskeletal symptoms were reported by 94.3% of respondents in the UK-and-Ireland working-adult digital-device survey (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
- For monitors with screen area from 210 to below 315 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.091 × screen area in square inches) + 15.40 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
- Selected consumer-electronics recycling was 190 thousand tons in 2000.
- Ocular symptoms were reported by 89.5% of respondents in the UK-and-Ireland working-adult digital-device survey (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
- For monitors with screen area of at least 315 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.182 × screen area in square inches) − 13.20 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
- Selected consumer-electronics generation was 3.12 million tons in 2010.
- A total of 8.1% of respondents in the UK-and-Ireland working-adult digital-device survey considered their symptoms significant enough to affect their work (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
Contents
- Key Computer Monitor Statistics
- Computer-monitor energy criteria
- Computer displays and electronics waste
- Screen use and digital eye strain
Computer-monitor energy criteria
- ENERGY STAR calculates a computer monitor’s total energy consumption in kWh as 8.76 × (0.35 × P_ON + 0.65 × P_SLEEP) (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For monitors with screen area below 190 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.172 × screen area in square inches) + 1.50 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For monitors with screen area from 190 to below 210 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.020 × screen area in square inches) + 30.40 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For monitors with screen area from 210 to below 315 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.091 × screen area in square inches) + 15.40 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For monitors with screen area of at least 315 square inches, the ENERGY STAR maximum TEC formula is (4.00 × resolution in megapixels) + (0.182 × screen area in square inches) − 13.20 (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* The ENERGY STAR TEC requirement multiplies the allowed energy by an AC/DC efficiency factor of 1.0 for AC-powered displays and 0.85 for displays with standard DC power (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* ENERGY STAR permits a full-network-connectivity allowance of 2.9 kWh in the computer-display TEC calculation (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* ENERGY STAR sets the automatic-brightness-control allowance at 0.05 × the maximum TEC value (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* ENERGY STAR sets the curved-display allowance at 0.15 × the maximum TEC value (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* ENERGY STAR sets the HDR allowance at 0.05 × maximum TEC for DisplayHDR CTS Tier 600 displays and 0.10 × maximum TEC for DisplayHDR CTS Tier 1000 displays (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* ENERGY STAR sets the USB-C power-delivery allowance at 2.75 kWh (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For signage displays, ENERGY STAR specifies a maximum sleep-mode power requirement of 0.5 W (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For signage displays, ENERGY STAR assigns a full-network-connectivity sleep allowance of 3 W (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
* For signage displays, ENERGY STAR assigns an occupancy-sensor sleep allowance of 0.3 W and a touch-function allowance of 1.5 W (effective January 28, 2020 criteria; ENERGY STAR program criteria, United States).
(Displays Key Product Criteria)
This is a certification calculation, not measured average consumption for all monitors.
Formula threshold, not an observed fleet average.
Program adjustment factor, not a measured average conversion efficiency for every product.
Allowance within a certification formula, not standalone monitor consumption.
Allowance within a certification formula.
Certification allowances, not observed HDR-monitor energy use.
This applies to signage displays, not every computer monitor.
This applies to signage-display criteria.
These are certification allowances for signage displays.
Computer displays and electronics waste
The reported selected consumer-electronics recycling figures cover United States.
| Measurement period | Selected consumer-electronics recycling (thousand U.S. tons) |
|---|---|
| 2000 | 190 thousand |
| 2010 | 650 thousand |
| 2015 | 1.23 million |
| 2017 | 1.02 million |
| 2018 | 1.04 million |
Source: Durable Goods: Product-Specific Data.
The reported selected consumer-electronics generation figures cover United States.
| Measurement period | Selected consumer-electronics generation (thousand U.S. tons) |
|---|---|
| 2010 | 3.12 million |
| 2015 | 3.10 million |
| 2017 | 2.84 million |
| 2018 | 2.70 million |
Source: Durable Goods: Product-Specific Data.
- US EPA estimated selected consumer-electronics generation at 2.7 million tons in 2018, representing less than 1% of all municipal solid waste generation.
(Durable Goods: Product-Specific Data)
* US EPA estimated a 38.5% recycling rate for selected consumer electronics in 2018.
(Durable Goods: Product-Specific Data)
* Selected consumer-electronics generation was 1.9 million tons in 2000, according to the EPA table.
(Durable Goods: Product-Specific Data)
Selected consumer electronics includes TVs, VCRs, DVDs, video cameras, stereos, telephones, and computer equipment; it is not monitors alone.
Category includes computer equipment and several non-monitor electronics; it is not a monitor-only rate.
Selected consumer-electronics category, not monitors alone.
Screen use and digital eye strain
- In a web-based survey of adults working with digital devices in the UK and Ireland, 62.6% met the study’s Computer Vision Syndrome Questionnaire threshold for digital eye strain (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
(Digital eye strain and its…)
* The same UK-and-Ireland working-adult survey reported mean digital-device use of 9.7 hours (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
(Digital eye strain and its…)
* Musculoskeletal symptoms were reported by 94.3% of respondents in the UK-and-Ireland working-adult digital-device survey (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
(Digital eye strain and its…)
* Ocular symptoms were reported by 89.5% of respondents in the UK-and-Ireland working-adult digital-device survey (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
(Digital eye strain and its…)
* A total of 8.1% of respondents in the UK-and-Ireland working-adult digital-device survey considered their symptoms significant enough to affect their work (2024 publication; survey period not stated in abstract; United Kingdom and Ireland).
Participants used a digital device for at least 1 hour per workday; the result is not monitor-only and is not a population prevalence estimate for all adults.
Mean use covers digital devices generally, not computer monitors alone.
Self-reported survey outcome among eligible digital-device users; not a causal estimate.
Self-reported work impact among eligible digital-device users; not monitor-specific.